Winners of 84th Welwyn Drama Festival in Welwyn Garden City announced

PUBLISHED: 07:05 06 June 2018 | UPDATED: 09:49 06 June 2018

Welwyn Drama Festival winners with adjudicator Paul Fowler. Picture: John Davies

Welwyn Drama Festival winners with adjudicator Paul Fowler. Picture: John Davies

John Davies

The curtain has come down on another successful Welwyn Drama Festival in Welwyn Garden City with the host theatre among the winners.

A packed house at the Barn Theatre on Saturday, May 26 heard adjudicator Paul Fowler, GoDA, commend the very high standard of this year’s 13 entries.

A festival spokesman said it was an entertaining week of one-act drama “encompassing comedy to tragedy, with everything else in-between”.

As well as the quality of the productions, Paul Fowler was particularly impressed with the stage sets, which covered quirky painted backdrops to a kitchen with a working kettle, and a full allotment with lettuce beds and a shed!

The awards were presented by the new chairman of the Barn Theatre Club, Simon Parr, and the proceedings were introduced by Welwyn Drama Festival chairman Derek Palmer.

The winners of the Welwyn Cup for first place overall were Big Squirrel Productions with Flat 2B, which was performed on the opening night of the 84th festival.

The Cambridgeshire-based theatre company also won the Peter Shatford Award for the director of the winning play, the Charles Pilgrem Trophy for stage presentation, and the Derrick Baldock Cup for the best unpublished play.

Big Squirrel’s Kattreya Scheurer-Smith also won the Winifred Butler Award for the best actress. Kattreya also wrote Flat 2B.

The home team, the Barn Theatre Club, took the Roy Brewer Cup for second place with their play, Red Handed, written by John Finnemore.

Harry Harding, who also starred in Red Handed, won the Behrens-Steinfeld Trophy for the most complete and imaginative direction.

The play also claimed the F J Osborn Audience Appreciation Award.

The Margaret Osborn Trophy for third place overall went to local team Tiger Theatrical Productions with Jesus My Boy by John Dowie.

The Welwyn Award for the best actor went to John Stivey for his performance as Nigel in Saint Monica’s Players’ production of House Proud by Paul Adam Levy.

The Louis Davis Trophy for the Adjudicator’s Award for a Special Contribution to the Festival went to Lucas Wilcox for his accomplished portrayal, at the age of 14, of a detective in The Cat Burglar by Out of Ideas Theatre Company.

Next year’s Welwyn Drama Festival, the 85th, is planned for the week commencing May 13 at the Barn Theatre.

• For more on the WDF, visit

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Welwyn Hatfield Times

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists