Enter Shikari’s live Alexandra Palace album delayed but band to play BBC Radio 1 Rock Show tonight

PUBLISHED: 15:06 30 October 2016 | UPDATED: 17:55 21 November 2016

Enter Shikari - Live at Alexandra Palace will now be released on Friday, November 18

Enter Shikari - Live at Alexandra Palace will now be released on Friday, November 18


Enter Shikari have had to delay the album release of their Alexandra Palace show but fans of the St Albans group can still hear them live on BBC Radio 1 tonight (Sunday) and see them at the London 02 for Halloween.

Enter Shikari – ‘Live at Alexandra Palace’ was originally due to be released on Friday, November 4.

But due to “unavoidable delays” at the manufacturing end, it has been put back a fortnight until November 18.

The quartet – Rou Reynolds, Chris Batten, Rob Rolfe and Rory Clewlow – are due to appear live on BBC Radio 1’s Rock Show tonight (Sunday) between 7pm and 10pm.

They will be playing live tracks at the Maida Vale studio on Daniel P Carter’s weekly Sunday night show.

Enter Shikari will also be appearing live at the O2 in London on Monday, October 31, with the band on stage at 8pm.

The Hertfordshire group have been personally invited by Bring Me The Horizon to play the role of very special guests at their Halloween show.

This will be the first time the two bands have played on the same non-festival concert bill since a one-off gig in Las Vegas, USA in June 2010, and the first time in the UK since a show at the tiny Leeds Packhorse venue in 2005, when combined band members numbered more than the paying audience.

It will be Enter Shikari’s last UK live show of 2016.

Don Broco and Basement are also on the London O2 bill.

On the album delay, a statement on the band’s website read: “Due to circumstances beyond our control, we have had to put the release of ‘Live at Alexandra Palace’ back until the 18th November 2016.

“This is due to unavoidable delays at the manufacturing end. It’s not just our release that’s been affected.

“Some of us are sitting here bemoaning the delay in the Stranger Things soundtrack vinyl too, for example.

“The one upside of this, is that it means we have an extra week or so of pre-orders, which means we can keep the window open for people getting the autographed copies of the album – as we can’t get them signed until they turn up, of course.”

As a taster of the album, the band had put the Alexandra Palace live version of Torn Apart up on Spotify / Apple Music.

• You can listen to the track here.

The ‘Live at Alexandra Palace’ album takes the band’s ‘Bootleg Series’ to its sixth release, and will be available via Ambush Reality / Play It Again Sam as download / stream from all online outlets, plus in limited edition 2xCD and splatter-coloured-vinyl 2xLP formats.

It features the full set – minus one track, due to technical issues on the night – from the band’s sold-out show at the 9,000 capacity London venue back in February 2016.

The album was edited and mixed by guitarist Rory Clewlow and Tim Morris, the band’s live monitors engineer, as well as engineer / assistant producer on the A Flash Flood Of Colour and The Mindsweep studio albums.

A video for a live version of the Redshift single, shot and recorded at the Ally Pally show, was released by the band in June and can be viewed here.

The Redshift video constitutes the only video track from the show due to a hitch with the filming, which is why there is no DVD release.

Enter Shikari also recently released a 30-minute ‘mini-documentary’ from their huge February 2016 UK arena tour.

You can watch it here.

Enter Shikari performed a DJ set as Shikari Sound System at this year’s Slam Dunk Festival at The Forum Hertfordshire in Hatfield.

And the band will return in 2017 at festival headliners.

• Enter Shikari ‘Live at Alexandra Palace’ track listings:

1. Intro / Solidarity

2. Sorry You’re Not A Winner

3. The One True Colour

4. The Last Garrison / No Sleep Tonight

5. Destablise

6. Radiate

7. Slipshod / The Jester

8. Price On Your Head (inc. Danny Byrd Remix)

9. Dear Future Historians

10. Arguing With Thermometers

11. Gandhi Mate, Gandhi

12. Torn Apart

13. Mothership

14. Redshift

15. Anaesthetist (inc. Reso Remix)

16. The Appeal & The Mindsweep II

• You can pre-order the album now at http://www.entershikari.com/store/ and receive instant downloads of Sorry You’re Not A Winner, Redshift and Slipshod - The Jester.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Welwyn Hatfield Times. Click the link in the orange box below for details.

Related articles

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years, through good times and bad, serving as your advocate and trusted source of local information. Our industry is facing testing times, which is why I’m asking for your support. Every single contribution will help us continue to produce award-winning local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Thank you.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Welwyn Hatfield Times