Who’s who of musicians appearing at Welwyn Garden Concert Club

PUBLISHED: 21:03 06 September 2011

Welwyn Garden Concert Club 2011-2012 season: Navarra String Quartet

Welwyn Garden Concert Club 2011-2012 season: Navarra String Quartet

Patrick Allen

IT’S almost concert time again in Welwyn Garden City.

The line-up for Welwyn Garden Concert Club’s 2011-12 season reads like a who’s who hall of fame for chamber music.

Guy Johnston, the Wihan and Navarra string quartets, James Gilchrist, the Galliard Ensemble and a trio of Gary Pomeroy, James Baillieu and Matthew Hunt will all appear at Campus West, in WGC, over the coming months.

The season opens on Saturday, September 24 with internationally renowned cellist Guy Johnston returning, this time with pianist Melvyn Tan.

Since winning the BBC Young Musician of the Year competition a decade ago, Guy has become one of the leading cellists of his generation.

From Harpenden, he has played alongside many of the world’s leading orchestras and in recitals at Wigmore Hall and Cadogan Hall.

Alongside Melvyn Tan, one of the leading exponents of the fortepiano, he will play a selection of Beethoven, Rachmaninov, Rubinstein and Mendelssohn.

November 12 will see Welwyn Garden Concert Club favourites Wiham String Quartet return by popular demand.

Formed in 1985, the quartet will perform a programme of Mozart, Martinu and Dvorak at the Hawthorne Theatre.

Tenor James Gilchrist will be the star attraction at the first concert of 2012 on January 7.

Joined by pianist Anna Tilbrook, his wide repertoire includes Schubert, Vaughan Williams and Lennox Berkeley.

In February, it’s the turn of the Navarra String Quartet to entertain classical lovers with Haydn and Brahms.

The penultimate concert of the season on March 17 features three performers – Gary Pomeroy, James Baillieu and Matthew Hunt – on viola, piano and clarinet respectively.

With impressive solo and chamber group experience, the trio will present a programme of Bruch, Schumann, Rebecca Clarke and Mozart.

The Galliard, one of Britain’s leading chamber ensembles, will bring the season to a rousing finale on May 19.

The ensemble has a lively, entertaining and distinctive performance style that has thrilled audiences in Britain and abroad.

They will play Ibert, Milhaud, Nielsen, Arnold and Paul Patterson’s Comedy for Five Winds.

Season tickets for all six concerts cost £64, and just £12 for students in full-time education.

Single concert tickets are £13.50, and £2.50 for students.

Concert-goers can book online through the box office at www.welhat.gov.uk/cw or by calling 01707 357117.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Welwyn Hatfield Times. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Related articles

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Welwyn Hatfield Times