Sunday, January 6, 2019

An activist and songwriter from Hatfield has pulled together a diverse group of people from across the Brexit divide to call for a final say in the deal - in very catchy way.

Read more
Wednesday, January 2, 2019

Welwyn Hatfield commuters have been hit with an average rail fare hike of 3.1%, tipping the cost of a season ticket from Welwyn Garden City into London to more than £3,000.

Read more
Monday, December 17, 2018

Welwyn Hatfield MP Grant Shapps has secured time in Parliament to debate the chaos caused by train firm Govia’s timetable changes.

Read more
Wednesday, December 12, 2018

Welwyn Hatfield Conservatives are considering the unfolding question of whether Theresa May should remain Prime Minister.

Read more
Tuesday, December 11, 2018

Government funding cuts across Welwyn Hatfield have meant that some schools have lost as much as £725 per pupil - even when class sizes are bigger.

Read more
Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Welwyn Garden City folk have reacted strongly to a government body’s recommendation that only people who held a season ticket in 2018 should get a discount on next year’s rail fares hike.

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Welwyn Hatfield schoolchildren are being left out in the cold by Arriva’s bus services, say concerned parents, who have turned to Welwyn Hatfield’s MP.

Read more
Thursday, November 1, 2018

Welwyn Hatfield’s Liberal Democrat parliamentary candidate has slammed the MP’s “enthusiastic response” to 2018 Budget.

Read more
Tuesday, October 30, 2018

Welwyn Hatfield MP Grant Shapps is “thrilled” after it was announced the NHS, which once saved his life, will see a record rise in funding.

Read more
Saturday, October 20, 2018

Welwyn Hatfield knitters have already produced hundreds of items for this year’s campaign to help people in Syria.

Read more
Thursday, October 18, 2018

A new Parcelforce processing centre has created more than 60 new jobs in Hatfield.

Read more
Tuesday, September 4, 2018

A Welwyn Hatfield-based charity’s supporters raised £1,611 while tackling its annual cycle rally.

Read more
Wednesday, August 15, 2018

Welwyn Hatfield rail users could be set to pay £100 more for their season tickets despite the ongoing rail chaos.

Read more
Saturday, August 11, 2018

Hertfordshire’s Police and Crime Commissioner has spoken out about his controversial proposals for the future of the fire service and why he didn’t attend the public meeting.

Read more
Friday, August 3, 2018

Over 150 people turned up to a meeting in Hatfield amid concerns that the Herts Police and Crime Commissioner’s fire service proposal would “put lives at risk”.

Read more
Thursday, August 2, 2018

Grant Shapps has stood down from a high-tech post, and a parliamentary group, after a row over the parliamentary register of MPs’ interests.

Read more
Wednesday, July 25, 2018

Local health chiefs have come under fire after Welwyn Garden City’s New QEII Hospital was graded inadequate.

Read more
Thursday, July 19, 2018

The manager of a coffee shop at Welwyn Garden City railway station says he has lost thousands of pounds since the timetable changeovers.

Read more
Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Hertfordshire’s Police and Crime Commissioner has said he will not attend a meeting to discuss his proposals for the future of the fire service.

Read more
Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Cabbies working with a leading WGC private hire company held a day of work stoppage in protest of their employment conditions.

Read more
Saturday, July 7, 2018

Welwyn Hatfield MP Grant Shapps was quizzed by Hatfield pupils during a visit as part of their Life Skills lesson.

Read more
Wednesday, June 13, 2018

Welwyn Hatfield MP Grant Shapps says he has become known as the “angriest MP” when it comes to discussions about trains.

Read more
Tuesday, June 12, 2018

Grant Shapps and Oliver Dowden are set to vote with the government on the Brexit Withdrawal Bill this afternoon (June 12).

Read more
Monday, June 4, 2018

Plans to extend the Oyster Card system to Welwyn Hatfield and Potters Bar this year have been scrapped.

Read more
Wednesday, May 30, 2018

The leader of Herts County Council has demanded answers from the Department for Transport, Network Rail and Govia Thameslink Railway about the rail chaos which has followed the recent timetable change.

Read more
Saturday, May 26, 2018

Numerous trains serving Welwyn Garden City, St Albans and Stevenage have been cancelled this morning as the Great Northern timetable chaos continues.

Read more
Saturday, May 12, 2018

Welwyn Hatfield MP Grant Shapps is set to visit every GP surgery in the borough as part of his Make Healthcare Local campaign.

Read more
Thursday, May 10, 2018

Self-described “lifelong Conservative” councillor Frank Bowron, leader of the Conservative Group at Hatfield Town Council, has left the party and will continue his term as an independent.

Read more
Sunday, April 8, 2018

Residents in 10 Hatfield roads will soon be able to get faster internet following an announcement by telecommunications company Openreach.

Read more
Saturday, April 7, 2018

More than 100 residents from Haldens and Panshanger enjoyed a tour around the Houses of Parliament with Welwyn Hatfield MP Grant Shapps.

Read more

Most read stories

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists

Newsletter Sign Up

Welwyn Hatfield Times weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy