Mon, 17:07

It was an NHS birthday to remember for Lister Hospital yesterday, as it discharged its final coronavirus patient from the Intensive Care Unit – a landmark moment in the hospital’s fight against COVID-19.

Read more
Wednesday, July 1, 2020

Two men have been charged over multiple offences relating to the serious crash in Monkswood Way that saw 19 people injured in Stevenage last summer.

Read more
Wednesday, June 10, 2020

A crash of a vehicle into a bridge between Stevenage and Welwyn Garden City is causing train delays between these two stations.

Read more

More than 2,000 people have been tested for COVID-19 at the three drive-through testing sites across Hertfordshire in the last month.

Read more
Friday, May 29, 2020

An Iranian GP based at Lister Hospital in Stevenage has sadly died from COVID-19.

Read more
Wednesday, May 13, 2020

A lifelong teacher who devoted her career and later life to educating the young people of Stevenage, Hitchin and Hatfield has sadly passed away.

Read more
Thursday, May 7, 2020

GP practices and community pharmacies across East and North Hertfordshire will remain open for people this May Bank Holiday.

Read more
Sunday, May 3, 2020

A number of former NHS staff are returning to hospitals across Hertfordshire, to support colleagues and care for patients during the coronavirus pandemic.

Read more
Tuesday, April 21, 2020

A couple living in Hatfield who celebrated the birth of their “beautiful miracle baby” during lockdown will appear on an ITV programme this evening.

Read more
Sunday, April 5, 2020

More COVID-19 deaths have been announced by the East and North Herts NHS Trust, which runs Lister Hospital in Stevenage.

Read more
Friday, April 3, 2020

The number of patients who have died after testing positive for coronavirus at Lister Hospital in Stevenage continues to rise.

Read more
Thursday, April 2, 2020

A number of places have committed to dropping parking charges for NHS staff and other essential workers for the duration of the coronavirus pandemic.

Read more
Wednesday, April 1, 2020

Nine more people have now died at Lister Hospital in Stevenage after being treated for COVID-19.

Read more
Wednesday, April 1, 2020

A nurse at Lister Hospital has broken ranks to expose the shocking PPE health workers are being equipped with on the frontline against coronavirus.

Read more
Monday, March 30, 2020

Knebworth House, Park and Gardens will remain closed until further notice as a result of the coronavirus crisis.

Read more
Thursday, March 26, 2020

Three patients have died at Lister Hospital in Stevenage after they tested positive for COVID-19.

Read more
Friday, March 20, 2020

Stevenage’s Gordon Craig Theatre is to close until further notice as a result of the coronavirus pandemic.

Read more
Friday, March 20, 2020

An ambulance was called at around 11am to reports of a cardiac arrest in Hatfield.

Read more
Friday, March 13, 2020

The NHS Trust which oversees the Lister Hospital in Stevenage is asking visitors to not remove its hand sanitiser gels – which are available around the hospital – as a number of dispensers have been taken amid coronavirus fears.

Read more
Thursday, March 12, 2020

A patient at Stevenage’s Lister Hospital has tested positive for coronavirus, the hospital’s trust has confirmed today.

Read more
Thursday, March 12, 2020

Three men were seen behaving aggressively towards staff at Welwyn Garden City station today.

Read more
Monday, March 9, 2020

A £2.6 million plan to increase the number of places at SEND schools in our area for the next academic year has been agreed upon by Hertfordshire County Council.

Read more
Monday, February 17, 2020

Almost 25,000 applications have been submitted by EU citizens and their families to continue living in our area under a government scheme, new figures have revealed.

Read more
Tuesday, February 11, 2020

A Stevenage-based police constable is under investigation following a complaint that he may have used his position for a sexual purpose.

Read more
Monday, February 3, 2020

School leavers and those looking to change careers are being urged to look beyond the traditional routes into work as part of National Apprenticeship Week.

Read more
Friday, January 31, 2020

Construction work to convert parts of the A1(M) into a smart motorway in Hertfordshire has been put on hold until a government review is complete.

Read more
Tuesday, January 28, 2020

The NHS trust which runs Stevenage’s Lister Hospital and Welwyn Garden City’s New QEII Hospital has warned that “there is a very real danger [it] will run out of money and [their] supply of people will dry up”.

Read more
Wednesday, January 15, 2020

A failure of the electricity supply at Finsbury Park is currently delaying train journeys to Stevenage.

Read more
Monday, January 6, 2020

EE customers in Stevenage and Potters Bar are set to receive 5G, as the network provider began rolling out the service in Hertfordshire.

Read more
Saturday, December 14, 2019

Two lanes are closed on the A1(M) after a crash involving four cars between Welwyn and Stevenage this afternoon.

Read more
Saturday, December 7, 2019

Pantomime tickets for next year’s production of Aladdin in Stevenage have gone on sale.

Read more
Thursday, November 28, 2019

One lane of the A1(M) has been closed after a crash between the Stevenage and Letchworth Gate junctions this evening – with heavy traffic back to Welwyn.

Read more
Monday, November 4, 2019

This year’s annual Stevenage fireworks display will take place on November 5 – Bonfire Night!

Read more
Friday, October 18, 2019

There are long delays on the A1(M) near Stevenage this morning after a crash on the southbound carriageway.

Read more
Friday, October 11, 2019

Joy Morgan’s mum said she can now “say goodbye properly” after a body found in woodland near Stevenage was confirmed as the murdered Hatfield student yesterday.

Read more
Monday, October 7, 2019

The family of murdered Hatfield student Joy Morgan has been contacted after a suspected body was found in woodland just outside Stevenage at the weekend.

Read more
Sunday, October 6, 2019

A suspected body has been found in woodland just outside Stevenage.

Read more
Friday, October 4, 2019

Cast members were out and about in Stevenage for the launch of this year’s Gordon Craig Theatre pantomime Beauty and the Beast.

Read more
Tuesday, September 17, 2019

The East of England Ambulance Service NHS Trust has upgraded and modernised three of its bases - including one in Stevenage - to help crews deliver life-saving care to patients quicker.

Read more
Thursday, September 12, 2019

As Strictly Come Dancing returns to our TV screens, ballroom double act Ian Waite and Vincent Simone have announced a new touring show.

Read more
Wednesday, September 11, 2019

Herts police have released dashcam footage of a head-on crash between a motorbike and a car in Stevenage as part of its campaign to improve the safety of motorcyclists on our roads.

Read more
Sunday, September 8, 2019

Arriva has changed its bus timetables for Stevenage, St Albans and Welwyn Hatfield areas.

Read more
Saturday, September 7, 2019

All lines are blocked on the Great Northern route after a person was hit by a train between Welwyn Garden City and Alexandra Palace this afternoon.

Read more
Monday, September 2, 2019

Hertfordshire Constabulary has donated more than £2,000 worth of toys to the Lister Hospital’s children’s ward following a fundraiser in aid of Welwyn Garden City three-year-old Elliot Harridge.

Read more
Sunday, September 1, 2019

New figures show that over a 12-month period (2018/19) about £500,000 has been saved by people in Hertfordshire who have bought medicines from a pharmacy or supermarket instead of getting a prescription from their GP.

Read more
Wednesday, August 28, 2019

A failed businessman has been sentenced to almost three years in prison after being found guilty of beating his wife and using controlling behaviour towards her for three years.

Read more
Tuesday, August 20, 2019

Music fans were treated to appearances by two prog rock stars at a Stevenage record shop.

Read more
Tuesday, August 20, 2019

Stevenage has been revealed to be a hotspot for vehicle vandalism for Hertfordshire, according to new figures.

Read more
Friday, August 16, 2019

Herts’ fire union agreed yesterday that it would carry out industrial action if fire crew reduction plans go ahead.

Read more
Wednesday, August 14, 2019

Commuters will be hit by a 2.8 per cent rail fare increase in 2020, it was confirmed today by the Department for Transport.

Read more

Most read stories