Welwyn Wheelers’ cyclo-cross titles decided

PUBLISHED: 09:39 04 November 2014 | UPDATED: 09:39 04 November 2014

Welwyn Wheelers Elspeth Grace

Welwyn Wheelers Elspeth Grace


The Welwyn Wheelers cyclo-cross championships were decided on Sunday when 40 Wheelers riders competed in the various age related races in the East Region League event held at Grafham Water.

In the U10 race Isaac Whitten was the top WW rider in sixth followed in by Archie Bracewell in eighth with Dillon and Poppy Knott 16th and 21st.

Joe Kiely won the U12 event, Tom Davies was fourth, Tom Sharples seventh and Michael Sumner 11th, while Jenna Miles was first girl in 13th place.

Fifteen Wheelers lined up among the 66 starters in the youth race.

Will Raymond was second, Michael Parry fourth and Toby Miles seventh.

The best ride of the day was Elspeth Grace who was in 14th place overall in the large field and first girl by around 60 seconds.

Kat Anderson was third girl and Josie Griffin first U14 girl. Sam Asker finished 9th and lost first U14 boys place with a mechanical problem but held onto second.

In the senior event of 80 riders in the 40-49 age group Alex Peeke retained his Wheelers senior trophy finishing in 18th place, Chris Murphy was 32nd, Garry Blackmore 42 and Andy Brown 46.

Graeme Anderson and Barry Gilzean rode in the 50 plus category finishing in 31 and 37 positions.

In the final race of the day, for senior and junior riders, Cai Davies was the best Wheeler beating Glen Dossett by 30 seconds.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Welwyn Hatfield Times. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Welwyn Hatfield Times