RBS Six Nations: England starting places against Wales for ex-Welwyn duo

PUBLISHED: 13:11 03 February 2015 | UPDATED: 13:11 03 February 2015

Sydney Gregson. Photo: rugbymatters.net

Sydney Gregson. Photo: rugbymatters.net


Former Welwyn Rugby players Hannah Gallagher and Sydney Gregson have been named in the England women’s team to play Wales in their opening RBS Six Nations encounter on Sunday.

Gregson, who has represented the nation at rugby sevens, is one of three debutants in the starting XV for the World Cup winners in the clash to be played in Swansea.

England’s acting head coach Nicola Ponsford, said: “This season is the start of a new World Cup cycle for us so the Six Nations is an opportunity for us to bring on a number of new players.

“We have got some really exciting young players coming through who will learn a lot from this experience.

“Hannah Field, Abbie Brown and Sydney Gregson have all played international sevens so they already have some international experience under their belts.

“This talent will be supported by a huge amount of experience across the rest of the squad, with eight World Cup winners in the starting line-up.

“The pack is particularly strong, led by Tamara Taylor as captain, with players like Rochelle Clark who knows better than anyone the intensity of Six Nations rugby, in particular playing away against Wales.”

England head into this year’s Six Nations looking for their first championship win since 2012, with Ireland and France most recently taking the spoils.

England finished last year’s campaign second best after an opening championship defeat to France in Grenoble.

England starting XV v Wales

15 Kay Wilson (Thurrock)

14 Ruth Laybourn (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks)

13 Abigail Brown (Bristol)

12 Megan Goddard (Worcester)

11 Sydney Gregson (Bristol)

10 Ceri Large (Worcester)

9 La Toya Mason (VC) (Wasps)

1 Rochelle Clark (Worcester)

2 Emma Croker (Richmond)

3 Laura Keates (Worcester)

4 Tamara Taylor (C) (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks)

5 Rowena Burnfield (Richmond)

6 Hannah Field (Richmond)

7 Hannah Gallagher (Saracens)

8 Alexandra Matthews (Richmond)


16 Victoria Fleetwood (Saracens)

17 Victoria Cornborough (Richmond)

18 Justine Lucas (Lichfield)

19 Abbie Scott (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks)

20 Harriet Millar-Mills (Waterloo)

21 Bianca Blackburn (Worcester)

22 Lauren Cattell (Saracens)

23 Katie Mason (Bristol)

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Welwyn Hatfield Times. Click the link in the yellow box below for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years, through good times and bad, serving as your advocate and trusted source of local information. Our industry is facing testing times, which is why I’m asking for your support. Every single contribution will help us continue to produce award-winning local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Thank you.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Welwyn Hatfield Times