Former Datchworth and Welwyn player set for England debut against Canada

PUBLISHED: 11:40 16 November 2017 | UPDATED: 11:40 16 November 2017

Hannah Botterman (second from left) is set to make her England debut against Canada at Saracens' Allianz Park.

Hannah Botterman (second from left) is set to make her England debut against Canada at Saracens' Allianz Park.


A former Datchworth and Welwyn rugby player is all set to make her international debut with England.

Hannah Botterman was called into the Red Roses squad earlier this week after only just joining up with the U20 side.

And she has now been named among the replacements for England’s clash with Canada at Allianz Park tomorrow night (Friday).

She is one of seven uncapped players in Simon Middleton’s team for the first of a three-game series, with fellow Welwyn team-mate Zoe Harrison also on the bench.

The head coach said: “Our priority is to win the series and keep our winning momentum going from last season.

“With selection we said from the outset we would pick on form, selecting players who are playing outstandingly well for their clubs.

“It’s a strong blend of youth and experience.

“I’m excited to see what the new, young players will bring win terms of their skill sets and pace. As a group they are very accomplished and have earned selection based on merit.

“That’s real testimony to the pathway, the U20s and the work they have been doing in their clubs.

“Alongside our more experienced players we know they will be given a great platform to play off and we have full confidence they will showcase their talents.”

England Women match-day 23, Old Mutual Wealth Series 2017

*denotes uncapped player

15. Danielle Waterman (Wasps FC Ladies, 74 caps)

14. Abigail Dow* (Wasps FC Ladies, uncapped)

13. Rachael Burford (Harlequins Ladies, 72 caps)

12. Amber Reed (Bristol Ladies, 44 caps)

11. Jess Breach* (Harlequins Ladies, uncapped)

10. Katy Daley- Mclean (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 91 caps)

9. Leanne Riley (Harlequins Ladies, 13 caps)

1. Vickii Cornborough (Harlequins Ladies, 27 caps)

2. Amy Cokayne (Wasps FC Ladies, 33 caps)

3. Heather Kerr (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 10 caps)

4. Abbie Scott (Harlequins Ladies, 21 caps)

5. Rowena Burnfield (Richmond FC, 40 caps)

6. Sarah Hunter © (Loughborough Lightning, 98 caps)

7. Marlie Packer (Saracens Women, 51 caps)

8. Poppy Cleall (Saracens Women, 15 caps)

16. Lark Davies (Worcester Valkyries, 3 caps)

17. Rochelle Clark (Wasps FC Ladies, 129 caps)

18. Hannah Botterman*(Saracens Women, uncapped)

19. Tamara Taylor (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 109 caps)

20. Shaunagh Brown* (Harlequins Ladies, uncapped)

21. Caity Mattinson*(Bristol Ladies, uncapped)

22. Zoe Harrison * (Saracens Women, uncapped)

23. Ellie Kildunne *(Gloucester-Hartpury Women’s RFC, uncapped)

More news stories

Yesterday, 16:30

Do you recognise any of the faces pictured in our police Hertfordshire Most Wanted gallery?

Yesterday, 14:30

Tickets have gone on sale for an annual Hertfordshire music festival at a special discounted price.

Yesterday, 12:00

Kind-hearted Potters Bar sixth formers planned and hosted a successful Christmas party for the elderly.

Yesterday, 09:00

Court results published by the Welwyn Hatfield Times are taken from St Albans, Stevenage and Hatfield Magistrates Court and are published without prejudice.

Most read stories

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists

Newsletter Sign Up

Welwyn Hatfield Times weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy