Hertfordshire trio named in England’s squad ahead of Women’s Six Nations

PUBLISHED: 15:37 27 January 2020 | UPDATED: 15:37 27 January 2020

England lift the 2019 Women's Six Nations trophy after completing the grand slam. Picture: STEVEN PASTON/PA

England lift the 2019 Women's Six Nations trophy after completing the grand slam. Picture: STEVEN PASTON/PA

PA Wire/PA Images

Former Datchworth, Welwyn and Harpenden juniors are all included as England name their 32-player squad for the Women’s Six Nations.

Hannah Botterman, Zoe Harrison and Sarah McKenna have been named by Simon Middleton as England look to defend their title, which starts away to France on Sunday.

The trio are joined by Saracens' team-mates Poppy and Bryony Cleall and Vicky Fleetwood, although Marlie Packer misses out with an ankle injury that has required surgery.

Middleton said: "We've named a squad that certainly reflects not only the immense experience in the English women's game but also some of the outstanding young talent that we are now seeing emerge from the Tyrrells Premier 15s.

"We are looking forward to seeing how this group, especially those who have emerged over the last 18 months, take the next step onto more senior roles.

"We know we have a tough route in this year's competition.

"We are missing some key players but know this presents a good opportunity for our wider squad who we have full belief in.

"We are looking forward to getting out to France which is always a great contest and starting our campaign in Pau."

A second away game follows the French trip with Scotland the destination on Sunday, February 9, while their first home game takes place at Doncaster on February 23.

They also host Italy at the Twickenham Stoop on March 7 before finishing off the tournament away to Italy on March 15.

England squad for 2020 Women's Six Nations:


Jess Breach (Harlequins Women, 10 caps)

Katy Daly-McLean (Loughborough Lightning, 110 caps)

Abby Dow (Wasps FC Ladies, 9 caps)

Zoe Harrison (Saracens Women, 20 caps)

Natasha Hunt (Gloucester-Hartpury Women, 50 caps)

Claudia Macdonald (Wasps FC Ladies, 8 caps)

Sarah McKenna (Saracens Women, 28 caps)

Amber Reed (Bristol Bears Women, 51 caps)

Leanne Riley (Harlequins Women, 34 caps)

Emily Scarratt (Loughborough Lightning, 85 caps)

Emily Scott (Harlequins Women, 35 caps)

Kelly Smith (Gloucester-Hartpury, 13 caps)

Lydia Thompson (Worcester Warriors Women, 45 caps)

Millie Wood (Gloucester-Hartpury, 8 caps)


Zoe Aldcroft (Gloucester-Hartpury Women, 16 caps)

Sarah Beckett (Harlequins Women, 13 caps)

Sarah Bern (Bristol Bears Women, 31 caps)

Hannah Botterman (Saracens Women, 17 caps)

Shaunagh Brown (Harlequins Women, 12 caps)

Rowena Burnfield (Richmond FC, 49 caps)

Bryony Cleall (Saracens Women, 1 cap)

Poppy Cleall (Saracens Women, 36 caps)

Amy Cockayne (Harlequins Women/RAF, 46 caps)

Vickii Cornborough (Harlequins Women, 49 caps)

Lark Davies (Loughborough Lightning, 22 caps)

Vicky Fleetwood (Saracens Women, 72 caps)

Amelia Harper (Loughborough Lightning, 0 caps)

Sarah Hunter (Loughborough Lightning, 119 caps)

Heather Kerr (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 22 caps)

Harriet Millar-Mills (Wasps FC Ladies, 51 caps)

Abbie Scott (Harlequins Women, 42 caps)

Morwenna Talling (Loughborough Lightning, 0 caps)

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Welwyn Hatfield Times. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Welwyn Hatfield Times