Welwyn Garden City to start new Southern League season at Herns Lane

PUBLISHED: 13:27 19 July 2018 | UPDATED: 13:30 19 July 2018

WGC now know who they will be playing and when after the release of the Southern League fixtures. Picture: Kevin Lines

WGC now know who they will be playing and when after the release of the Southern League fixtures. Picture: Kevin Lines

Archant

Welwyn Garden City will start their historic Southern League Division One Central season at home.

The Citizens will face Didcot Town in the step four division at Herns Lane on Saturday, August 18, their prize for winning the Spartan South Midlands Premier Division title last time around.

That game is followed by a midweek trip to Peterborough Sports before WGC manager Adam Fisher will welcome old club Barton Rovers on bank holiday Monday.

The Bedfordshire side will be the destination for WGC on Boxing Day while Dunstable Town will be the visitors on New Years Day.

The return fixture to Creasey Park comes on Easter Monday while the Easter Saturday fixture brings Bedford Town to Welwyn Garden.

City finish their season at home to Aylesbury on Saturday, April 27 while they face their longest trip of the year to Sutton Coldfield Town on February 23.

Welwyn Garden City’s Southern League Division One Central fixtures in full:

Sat Aug 18 Didcot Town (h)

Tue Aug 21 Peterborough Sports (a)

Mon Aug 27 Barton Rovers (h)

Sat Sep 01 Bedford Town (a)

Sat Sep 15 Bromsgrove Sporting (a)

Sat Sep 22 Cambridge City (h)

Sat Sep 29 Berkhamsted (h)

Sat Oct 06 Aylesbury United (a)

Sat Oct 20 Kidlington (h)

Sat Nov 03 AFC Dunstable (a)

Sat Nov 10 Yaxley (a)

Sat Nov 17 Coleshill Town (h)

Sat Nov 24 North Leigh (h)

Sat Dec 01 Kempston Rovers (a)

Sat Dec 08 Sutton Coldfield Town (h)

Sat Dec 15 Thame United (a)

Sat Dec 22 Corby Town (h)

Wed Dec 26 Barton Rovers (a)

Sat Dec 29 Didcot Town (a)

Tue Jan 01 Dunstable Town (h)

Sat Jan 05 Aylesbury (a)

Sat Jan 12 Peterborough Sports (h)

Sat Jan 19 Aylesbury United (h)

Sat Jan 26 Berkhamsted (a)

Sat Feb 02 AFC Dunstable (h)

Sat Feb 09 Kidlington (a)

Sat Feb 16 Thame United (h)

Sat Feb 23 Sutton Coldfield Town (a)

Sat Mar 02 Yaxley (h)

Sat Mar 09 Coleshill Town (a)

Sat Mar 16 Bromsgrove Sporting (h)

Sat Mar 23 Cambridge City (a)

Sat Mar 30 Kempston Rovers (h)

Sat Apr 06 North Leigh (a)

Sat Apr 13 Corby Town (a)

Sat Apr 20 Bedford Town (h)

Mon Apr 22 Dunstable Town (a)

Sat Apr 27 Aylesbury (h)

More news stories

09:00

A family have spoken of their “absolute shock” after waking up to discover their Range Rover had been stolen by keyless car thieves.

07:00

A WGC-based charity has won a Government grant to help transform the lives of carers and their families in Dhaka, Bangladesh.

Yesterday, 16:51

A man who shook a crying, teething baby in Hatfield was today given a chance to put the incident behind him.

Yesterday, 14:57

Shoppers in Welwyn Garden City have been giving their opinions on the current political turmoil.

Most read stories

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists

Newsletter Sign Up

Welwyn Hatfield Times weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy