Premier League quartet breeze through in Welwyn Hatfield Sunday League Cup

PUBLISHED: 16:58 02 November 2016 | UPDATED: 16:58 02 November 2016

Hatfield Cricket Club (orange) v Bradmore Rovers (pink/black) tussle in the Premier Division League Cup. Picture: Andy Todd

Hatfield Cricket Club (orange) v Bradmore Rovers (pink/black) tussle in the Premier Division League Cup. Picture: Andy Todd


Rhys Lawrence and Daniel Staples both hit hat-tricks as The Great Northern cruised into the Premier Division League Cup second round, demolishing The Cock 11-3 in their second-leg clash.

Having won the first leg 5-0 at home, Northern were feeling confident they would progress.

Jason Beck and Mikey Jeffs both hit doubles while Andrew Simmons scored one.

The Cock grabbed consolations through Chris Eke, Alex Canter and Charan Basra.

Shamrock Rovers thrashed Shamrock Rovers Reserves 7-0.

Ben Smith netted a hat-trick while Jamie Jackson, Ryan Gordon, Matt Standen and Luke Radley all scored a goal each.

The Rosey are also through to the second round of the League Cup after a 4-1 aggregate win over Hatfield Mosquito.

Kris Mills put The Rosey 1-0 up, however, Mosquito replied early into the second half via a Shane Donohoe goal and the game finished 1-1.

Sun Inn Lemsford booked their spot in the next round with a 4-3 second-leg triumph at Welwyn Campus.

Leading 5-0 from the first leg, Dan Zienkowicz struck a treble and Stefan Saywell grabbed a fourth for Sun Inn.

Tom Watts, Orphan Price and Daniel Viney got the goals for Welwyn Campus.

Ennis Daly (two), Mark Freestone, Liam Archer, Paul Ricketts and Lewis Freestone all notched as Bradmore Rovers beat Hatfield Cricket Club 6-1 to advance.

Andy Cannons scored for Hatfield but Rovers progressed via a 9-2 aggregate triumph.

In the Premier Division, The Grove hammered Hatfield Seniors 8-2.

Curtis Warner scored a brace for Seniors in the early stages but it wasn’t long before The Grove blew away their adversaries.

Ady Hamill got on the scoresheet with a hat-trick while Jay Lovell, Chris Harris, Ryan North, Arkadiusz Frydrych and Alex Cobson completed the win.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Welwyn Hatfield Times