F1 2012 Indian Grand Prix qualifying result: Hamilton third on grid as Vettel claims pole

PUBLISHED: 10:47 27 October 2012 | UPDATED: 16:58 28 October 2012

Lewis Hamilton during practice for the 2012 Grand Prix of India [Picture: Vodafone McLaren Mercedes]

Lewis Hamilton during practice for the 2012 Grand Prix of India [Picture: Vodafone McLaren Mercedes]


FORMULA 1 driver Lewis Hamilton will line-up on the second row of the grid after Sebastian Vettel claimed pole position in qualifying for the 2012 Grand Prix of India.

F1 2012 Indian Grand Prix

Buddh International Circuit facts

* Race distance: 60 laps (190.924 miles/307.249km)

* Start time: 15:00 (local)/09:30 GMT

* Circuit length: 3.185 miles/5.125km

* 2011 winner: Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull) 60 laps in 1hr30m35.002s (203.513km/h)

* 2011 pole: Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull) 1m24.178s (219.178km/h)

* Lap record: Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull) 1m27.249s (211.463km/h)

Red Bull completed another front-row lock-out this morning (Saturday) with reigning F1 world champion Vettel fastest in Q3 at the Buddh International Circuit with a lap time of 1m 25.283s.

Aussie Mark Webber qualified second in India for Red Bull.

Hamilton, the 27-year-old Vodafone McLaren Mercedes ace from Hertfordshire, was third quickest in qualifying’s 10 top shoot-out.

His time of 1m 25.544s was just 0.1s shy of the front row.

The Stevenage-born 2008 F1 world champion will line-up on the grid alongside McLaren teammate Jenson Button, who starts fourth after clocking a lap of 1m 25.659s.

After the Red Bull and McLaren pairings comes an all-Ferrari third row, with Fernando Alonso fifth and Felipe Massa sixth.

Kimi Raikkonen was seventh for Lotus and Sergio Perez was eighth quickest in the provisional qualifying results.

Pastor Maldonado and Nico Rosberg complete the top 10 at the new track near New Delhi.

Williams driver Maldonado had set the pace in Q1 ahead of Vettel and Rosberg’s Mercedes GP.

Hamilton was fourth with a best lap of 1m 26.516s.

He was also fourth fastest in Q2 as Vettel topped the timesheets ahead of Button and Webber, while Romain Grosjean and Michael Schumacher were among the fallers.

The 2012 Grand Prix of India starts at 9.30am GMT on Sunday.

Related articles

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years, through good times and bad. Coronavirus is one of the greatest challenges our community has ever faced, but if we all play our part we will defeat it. We're here to serve as your advocate and trusted source of local information.

In these testing times, your support is more important than ever. Thank you.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Welwyn Hatfield Times