Welwyn Hatfield Sports Awards 2015 is celebrated

PUBLISHED: 09:32 27 February 2015 | UPDATED: 16:32 03 March 2015

Welwyn Hatfield Sports Awards 2015

Welwyn Hatfield Sports Awards 2015


The best of sport in the borough was recognised at the Welwyn Hatfield Borough Sports Awards 2015 which this year saw a record breaking number of nominations.

Nominees, sponsors and special guests gathered for the ceremony this evening (Thursday) at the Hawthorne Theatre, Campus West, Welwyn Garden City.

World number five female squash player Alison Waters won the Sports Person of the Year title after a successful 2014 which saw her crowned British champion for the third time and win Commonwealth Games silver and bronze medals.

Welwyn Garden City Football Club took the Club of the Year title back to Herns Lane for showing huge progression on and off the playing field.

The Welwyn Hatfield Times sponsored Service to Sport award was presented to Chris Sherriff of Welwyn & District Bowls Club who has been an active member for more than 30 years.

The full list of winners:

Sports Person of the Year (Finesse Leisure): Alison Waters (squash)

Young Participant of the Year (Welwyn Hatfield Youth Council): Esperanza Merry (wheelchair tennis)

Coach of the Year (Herts Coaches’ Association): Michael Dargan (judo)

Service to Sport (Welwyn Hatfield Times): Chris Sherriff (bowls)

Team of the Year (Mears): 1RM (powerlifting)

Club of the Year (WHSPAA): WGC FC

Contribution to Disability Sport (Activate): Hassan Halil (Welwyn Hatfield Day Care Services)

School Teacher of the Year (Herts Sports Village): Jackie Harrison (Commonswood School)

Primary School Pupil of the Year (Hatfield Town Council): Anya Trigg (Welwyn St Mary’s Primary School)

Secondary School Pupil of the Year: Rebecca Hurley (Queenswood)

Young Volunteer of the Year - under 21 (YMCA West & Central Herts): Callum Pond (WGC FC)

Volunteer of the Year - over 21 (Child UK): David Croft (De Havilland Bowls Club)

Primary School Team of the Year (Gosling Sports Park): Welwyn St Mary’s Primary School table tennis team

Secondary School Team of the Year (Welwyn Hatfield Community Housing Trust): Chancellor’s School boys swimming team

Outstanding Contribution to Sport: Derek Beaumont (Diving)

There were also seven bonus awards handed out for Respect, Determination, Inspiration, Courage, Friendship, Excellence, Equality.

The winners of those were: Respect – Steve Willis, Onslow School

Determination – Harwood Hill Primary School Basketball team

Inspiration – Kim Anderson, Taekwondo

Courage – Kevin Brennan, Multi-Disability Sport

Friendship – Carrie Hudson, Old Hatfield Ladies Running Club

Excellence - Kyran O’Neil, Welwyn Garden City Boxing Club

Equality – Ian Miller, Athletics.

Find reaction from the winners and much more from the awards in this Wednesday’s Welwyn Hatfield Times.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Welwyn Hatfield Times. Click the link in the yellow box below for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years, through good times and bad. Coronavirus is one of the greatest challenges our community has ever faced, but if we all play our part we will defeat it. We're here to serve as your advocate and trusted source of local information.

In these testing times, your support is more important than ever. Thank you.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Welwyn Hatfield Times