Welwyn Hatfield’s finest recognised by outgoing mayor

PUBLISHED: 12:33 23 May 2017

Queen's Diamond Jubliee Award winners

Queen's Diamond Jubliee Award winners


Three of Welwyn Hatfield’s worthiest citizens were recognised for their selfless help for others

by outgoing mayor Pat Mabbott in a ceremony last night.

Eponine Laming-Nash.Eponine Laming-Nash.

Councillor Mabbott, concluding her year of office at a full meeting of Welwyn Hatfield Council at Campus West last night, presented four Civic Awards, including one to Sherrardspark Wood Wardens’ Society, recognising 50 years of commitment.

Graham Lale received a Civic Award for his work for elderly and less able residents of Welwyn Garden City, and Wayne Bush was honoured for his work with the council’s Town Centre Team.

The Young Person’s Award went to Eponine Laming-Nash, who is vice-chairperson of Welwyn Hatfield Youth Council.

They each received an engraved crystal trophy, a certificate and a cheque for £250.

The Sherrardspark woodwardens.The Sherrardspark woodwardens.

Councillor Mabbott also presented 18 Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Awards to talented young people who have shown “outstanding commitment and courage in overcoming personal difficulties or helping the local community”.

She said:“Presenting these awards and recognising these people who have made such an important contribution to Welwyn Hatfield is a great honour, and it really showcases the hard work of the community.

“It was difficult picking the winners because we had so many strong nominations, but I think the winners really embody the community spirit that makes this borough such a great community to be a part of.

“I can’t think of a better way to round off what has been a great year as mayor of Welwyn Hatfield.”

Graham Lale.Graham Lale.

The new mayor of Welwyn Hatfield is Councillor Lynne Sparks.

The recipients of Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Awards are:

Opeoluwa Afolabi (basketball)

Robin Bedford (basketball)

Frank Sum (piano)

Holly Clayton (badminton)

Ellen Day (football)

Jessie Edwards (judo)

Alistair Fitton (music)

Louise Grenfell (gymnastics)

Olivia Kilby (gymnastics)

Eliezer Lagman (guitar)

Lavigne Leung (badminton)

Arabella Moen (tennis)

Callum Nicolson (athletics)

Shivani Patel (dance)

David Shipman (swimming)

Abbey-Rae Turner (gymnastics)

Hannah Williams (athletics)

James Woodward ( swimming)

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Welwyn Hatfield Times. Click the link in the yellow box below for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years, through good times and bad, serving as your advocate and trusted source of local information. Our industry is facing testing times, which is why I’m asking for your support. Every single contribution will help us continue to produce award-winning local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Thank you.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Welwyn Hatfield Times