Welwyn Hatfield Council Cabinet reshuffle and new leader confirmed

PUBLISHED: 11:54 22 May 2018 | UPDATED: 11:54 22 May 2018

This year's councillors at the Annual Council Meeting on Monday. Picture: WHC.

This year's councillors at the Annual Council Meeting on Monday. Picture: WHC.


Welwyn Hatfield Council officially confirmed its new leader and Cabinet at the Annual Council Meeting.

New council leader Mandy Perkins. Picture: WHCNew council leader Mandy Perkins. Picture: WHC

After being named leader of Welwyn Hatfield Conservatives earlier this month, Mandy Perkins was officially named as the new council leader at last night’s meeting (Monday, May 21).

Cllr Perkins will retain responsibility for planning policy – which includes the borough’s Local Plan – and affordable housing.

Following a Cabinet reshuffle, councillors Stephen Boulton, Terry Mitchinson and Fiona Thomson are now responsible for planning delivery and environment, culture and communications, and governance and public health respectively.

Councillor Duncan Bell retained his role as resources portfolio holder, while Tony Kingsbury, who previously held the leisure portfolio, is now the deputy leader and responsible for housing and community.

Economic development and partnerships will continue to be overseen by Cllr Bernard Sarson.

Cllr Mandy Perkins reaffirmed her commitment to key projects, including Hatfield town centre’s regeneration, new leisure facilities in WGC and affordable housing.

She added: “I want to bring a new focus on letting residents and businesses know what we have, and will be, delivering for them whilst ensuring we are listening to their views.”

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Welwyn Hatfield Times