Tories strengthen grip on Welwyn Hatfield Council

THE ruling Tory administration tightened its grip on Welwyn Hatfield Council in the local elections.

Just eight of 48 seats are NOT controlled by the party, after the Conservatives gained three from Labour – including breaking into the WGC ward of Peartree for the first time ever.

Three of Labour’s biggest players lost their seats – Colin Croft, deputy leader Steve Roberts and, most surprisingly of all, group leader Margaret Birleson.

Labour did have one glimmer of hope as Linda Mendez returned to the council, beating Hatfield South incumbent Tory David Hughes.

Tony Skottowe, the only sitting Liberal Democrat councillor facing the polls, retained his Handside seat by a whisker – receiving 12 votes more than his Tory rival Chris Cory.

You may also want to watch:

Cllr Dean, who was re-elected in the Brookmans Park and Little Heath ward, was in jubilant mood with his party’s results.

“It’s marvellous, it reflects what a good job we’re doing.”

Most Read

The overall make-up of Welwyn Hatfield Council is: Con 40, Lab 5, Lib Dem 3.

* More reaction from the election count can be read in today’s Welwyn Hatfield Times.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter