Portfolio holders announced for Hertsmere

PUBLISHED: 08:59 25 May 2018 | UPDATED: 08:59 25 May 2018

Councillor Morris Bright, leader of Hertsmere Borough Council

Councillor Morris Bright, leader of Hertsmere Borough Council

© Blake Ezra Photography Ltd. 2012.www.blakeezraphotography.com.+44 (0) 208 7365868

Portfolio holders have been announced for Hertsmere Council.

Leader of the council, councillor Morris Bright, announced changes to the Hertsmere Borough Council Cabinet at the full council meeting on Wednesday, May 23.

Councillor Bright announced the creation of an additional portfolio, responsible for community and economic development, to be held by councillor Paul Morris.

The new portfolio will take effect immediately and will be responsible for regeneration of external and internal investment, employment growth, becoming a business champion, promoting social inclusion within the workforce particularly for local youth and the older generation, and promoting the region as a tourist destination.

Councillor Bright, said: “Our goal is to provide excellent services for our community and to do that our executive must have portfolio’s that represent the council’s vision for the future and our aims set out within the Corporate Plan.

“This new role will help address the significant challenges that we face in continuing to tackle austerity through being an enterprising council, planning for the future and supporting our communities.

“We are fortunate to have many skilled and knowledgeable local councillors, and the time is right for using more of their expertise to benefit the work of the council.”

The Cabinet will be made up as follows:

• Cllr Morris Bright (MBE): Leader of the Council and Portfolio Holder for Communications and Consultation

• Cllr Dr Harvey Cohen: Portfolio Holder for Planning and Localism

• Cllr Seamus Quilty: Portfolio Holder for Environment and Transport

• Cllr Caroline Clapper: Portfolio Holder for Leisure, Culture and Health

• Cllr John Graham: Deputy Leader and Portfolio Holder for Finance and Property

• Cllr Pervez Choudhury: Portfolio Holder for Community Safety and Performance

• Cllr Jean Heywood: Portfolio Holder for Housing

• Cllr Paul Morris (OBE): Portfolio Holder for Community and Economic Development

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Welwyn Hatfield Times. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Welwyn Hatfield Times