Hertfordshire MPs split over EU referendum vote

PUBLISHED: 17:28 25 October 2011 | UPDATED: 17:28 25 October 2011

The EU

The EU


TIMES Territory’s MPs were split over whether to allow the public a referendum on the European Union at last night’s (Monday) vote.

The motion was rejected by 483 to 111, with 94 rebelling against three-line whips imposed by Prime Minister David Cameron, Labour leader Ed Miliband and Lib Dem chief Nick Clegg.

Our MPs, who rebelled and called for a referendum are:

James Clappison (Con, Hertsmere, including Potters Bar)

Charles Walker (Con, Broxbourne, which includes Cuffley and Northaw)

Stephen McPartland (Con, Stevenage, which includes Knebworth and Codicote)

And those who voted with the Government were:

Oliver Heald (Con, North East Herts, including Tewin and Watton-at-Stone)

Grant Shapps (Con, Welwyn Hatfield)

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Welwyn Hatfield Times. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Related articles

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Welwyn Hatfield Times