Inspirational Welwyn Hatfield residents recognised by council

PUBLISHED: 15:16 22 May 2018 | UPDATED: 15:16 22 May 2018

The Queen�s Sapphire Jubilee Awards winners and the Civic Award winners. Picture: WHBC.

The Queen�s Sapphire Jubilee Awards winners and the Civic Award winners. Picture: WHBC.


The inspirational achievements of Welwyn Hatfield people were celebrated at an awards ceremony last night.

The Civic Award winners. Picture: WHBC.The Civic Award winners. Picture: WHBC.

Three Civic Awards, run by Welwyn Hatfield Council, were presented by deputy mayor councillor Barbara Fitzsimon, along with 20 Queen’s Sapphire Jubilee Awards.

The Young Person Award was presented by Geraldine Ward, dean of students of the University of Hertfordshire, and new for this year was the Mears Community Award, presented by Mears site manager Scott Clarke.

The Civic Awards celebrate a range of achievements, including service to the community, courage, environmental work and education.

The award winners were:

The Queen�s Sapphire Jubilee Awards winners. Picture: WHBC.The Queen�s Sapphire Jubilee Awards winners. Picture: WHBC.

•Jean Dossett - for her work with the WGC Girl Guides

•Robert Ducat-Brown - for his fundraising for charities in WGC

•Ricky Jennings - for volunteering and helping to prevent youth homelessness

•Sue Finney - Community Award - for volunteering at Isabel Hospice for over 25 years

•Georgia Ormrod - Young Person Award - as an example of tenacity and determination in coping with serious illness

The winners each received a crystal engraved trophy, a certificate, a cheque for £250 and a place in the Civic Awards Roll of Honour which records their achievement for posterity.

The Queen’s Sapphire Jubilee Awards celebrate the wealth of talented young people in the borough to help and encourage them to reach their full potential.

This year 20 young people received the award.

The winners were:

•Melody CHAI, Dance

•Shivani Patel, Dance

•Josephine Clayton, Music - Flute and Piano

•Holly Clayton, Sport - Badminton

•Dylan Martin, Sport - Bowls

•Alfie Tibbles, Sport - Clay Pigeon Shooting

•Euan Woodliffe, Sport - Cycling

•Imogen Chastell, Sport - Cycling

•Thomas Martin, Sport - Football

•Betty Brocklesby Sum, Sport - Gymnastics

•Gracie-Rae Kilby, Sport - Gymnastics

•Olivia Kilby, Sport - Gymnastics

•Jessie Edwards, Sport - Judo

•Callum Nicolson, Sport - Running

•Emily Nicolson, Sport - Running

•Hannah Williams, Sport - Running

•Joseph Strong, Sport - Running

•Joshua Horleston, Sport - Running

•David Shipman, Sport - Swimming

•Arabella Moen, Sport - Tennis

Mayor, councillor Barbara Fitzsimon, said: “The Civic Awards highlight how many selfless and dedicated people there are in our community that work tirelessly to help improve Welwyn Hatfield.

“It was difficult choosing from the list of really strong nominations, but our winners all possess the dedication and commitment that helps to keep the community spirit in our borough alive, and I am honoured to have had the chance to present them with their awards.”

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Welwyn Hatfield Times. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Welwyn Hatfield Times