In Hertsmere, Conservative MP Oliver Dowden has comfortably held onto his seat in the General Election.

He said: "It's a privilege and honour to be re-elected as the MP for Hertsmere.

"Thank you to everyone who put their faith and trust in me. I have heard your concerns and will never take your support for granted. I will always work for the best interests of our community."

The results were announced by the returning officer, Hertsmere Borough Council's chief executive Sajida Bijle, at the count in Allum Hall, Borehamwood, just after 3.30am this morning (July 5).

The full results are as follows:

Raymond Bolster, Independent: 536 votes

Oliver James Dowden, The Conservative Party: 21,451 votes

John Humphries, Green Party: 2,267 votes

Emma Lilian Matanle, Liberal Democrat: 3,710 votes

Darren Bruce Selkus, Reform UK: 6,584 votes

Joshua Daniel Tapper, Labour Party: 13,459 votes

The turnout across Hertsmere was 65.6 per cent.