Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council has a new leader and cabinet following the local elections earlier this month.

Max Holloway, Labour councillor for Howlands, has replaced Liberal Democrat Paul Zukowskyj as leader, with Jane Quinton, Lib Dem councillor for Panshanger, becoming deputy leader.

The changes come after Labour secured eight seats from the Conservatives at the local elections on May 3, to hold 20 seats, the most of any party on Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council.

This was not enough to secure a majority and the council remains under no overall control, with the Labour and Liberal Democrat joint administration remaining in charge, as they have done since last year's election.

"I am delighted to have the opportunity to build on last year's work, and to continue the collaborative spirit of the joint administration," said Cllr Holloway. 

"Together, we will deliver on our shared priorities and work towards building the healthier, cleaner and greener borough that our residents want to see, keeping the community at the heart of everything we do."

Cllr Quinton added: "We continue to be committed to achieving the best results for all of our residents and believe we can best do this through the joint administration."

Welwyn Hatfield Times: Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council's new cabinet in full.Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council's new cabinet in full. (Image: Canva)

The following new cabinet is also set to be confirmed at the annual council meeting on Monday, May 20:

  • Cllr Max Holloway (Labour, Howlands) - leader of the council and executive member for climate change
  • Cllr Jane Quinton (Lib Dem, Panshanger) - deputy leader of the council and executive member for leisure and community
  • Cllr Sandreni Bonfante (Lib Dem, Welham Green and Hatfield South) - executive member for environment
  • Cllr Kieran Thorpe (Labour, Hatfield Central) - executive member for governance
  • Cllr Gemma Moore (Lib Dem, Handside) - executive member for housing
  • Cllr Rose Grewal (Labour, Hatfield Villages) - executive member for planning
  • Cllr James Broach (Labour, Hatfield Villages) - executive member for resources

To represent the Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council at civic and ceremonial occasions, Cllr Frank Marsh is set to be appointed as Mayor, while former deputy council leader, Cllr Lynn Chesterman, will take the role of Deputy Mayor.