The winners of the first Mayor of Hertford Community Awards 2024 have been announced.

Hertford Town Council's annual town meeting on Thursday, March 21 incorporated the awards.

A shortlist was produced from the many nominations made by the public. The winners were then selected by the Mayor of Hertford, Cllr Vicky Smith.

There were five winners across four categories.

  • The Eco Award: Organisation: Hertford Cycle Hub – for their work as Herts3Cycle repairing unwanted bicycles and donating them to individuals in need.
  • The Eco Award: Individual: Joint winners – Basil Johns for his incredible work making swift (and other bird) boxes over the past two years, and Clive Fleming for his tireless work with Hertford Swift Group, raising awareness and encouraging people to do what they can to support swifts.
  • The Community Award: Organisation: The Hertford Pantry – together the team behind The Hertford Pantry give up their free time to help individuals within the community who rely on The Hertford Pantry to be able to provide for their families. They also provide friendship and enlightenment within the community.
  • The Community Award: Individual: – Dan Griffiths, who established the I Love Hertford platform to spread positivity and support throughout Hertford. His presence is recognisable across the town.

Hertford Town Council wishes to congratulate everybody who was nominated. The nomination process highlighted the fantastic work undertaken across the county town by individuals and organisations.

Cllr Smith said: “It was a very difficult task to select winners from so many worthy nominations.

"It is testament to our town that so many people and groups work hard to ensure it remains a wonderful place to live, work and visit.”