Liam Gallagher will be hoping for his fifth solo UK number one album later this week with his live 'Knebworth 22' release.

Recorded at last summer's "Biblical" sold-out Knebworth House concerts, 'Knebworth 22' was released last Friday (August 11) and is in contention for the Number 1 slot in this week's official charts.

It is leading the way in the midweek charts ahead of Swedish rockers The Hives and The Death Of Randy Fitzsimmons. Electronic duo Jungle are at Number 3 with Volcano, with a re-release of David Bowie’s Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars live album currently at four.

The official UK album chart positions for the week will be announced on Friday. 

Both a celebration and a souvenir of the two biggest solo shows of the former Oasis frontman's career to date, the Knebworth 22 album was released alongside a live video of the gig's set closer Champagne Supernova featuring a very special guest in the shape of Stone Roses legend John Squire.

Liam Gallagher has already scored four solo chart-toppers. All three of his studio albums – ‘As You Were’ (2017), ‘Why Me? Why Not.’ (2019) and ‘C’mon You Know’ (2022) – shot straight to No.1, while his ‘MTV Unplugged’ (2020) album also topped the charts.

He also scored eight UK No.1 albums with Oasis, while the Knebworth 1996 live album peaked at number four in 2021.

Liam's brother Noel Gallagher has four UK number one albums to his name with the High Flying Birds – debut Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds, Chasing Yesterday, Who Built the Moon? and compilation Back the Way We Came: Vol. 1 (2011–2021).

In a recent conversation with DJ Jo Whiley on BBC Radio 2, Liam compared his two triumphant solo Knebworth shows last June to those famous Oasis gigs at the same Hertfordshire venue back in August 1996.

He commented: “It’s like a boxer when he wins his first title, it’s amazing but then when you lose it, and when you go back and win it 26 years later, I think the one that means the most is the one 26 years later.”

Welwyn Hatfield Times: The cover of Liam Gallagher's Knebworth 22 live album.The cover of Liam Gallagher's Knebworth 22 live album. (Image: Warner Music)

'Knebworth 22’ unfolds with an electrifying intensity, its setlist taking in Liam’s biggest solo songs, a selection of iconic Oasis anthems, and a few deep cuts for good measure, including 'Roll It Over' from Oasis album Standing on the Shoulder of Giants.

Whether Liam and his band are firing on full throttle – see the early one-two of ‘Rock ‘n’ Roll Star’ and ‘Wall Of Glass’ – or delivering phones-in-the-air slowburners, particularly ‘Once’ and ‘More Power’, their performance more than matches the phenomenal scale of the occasion.

And the atmosphere is on fire too, from the first roar of excitement as Liam steps on-stage to perform set opener 'Hello', to the 80,000 voices that join him for a climactic ‘Champagne Supernova’.  


Read more


The new live video of ‘Champagne Supernova’ provides a rush of nostalgia, from the introduction of guitarist John Squire of the Stone Roses to a sea of ecstatic faces in the Knebworth crowd, many of whom weren’t even born when the Oasis song was first released, and then the final dazzling firework display.

Naturally, Liam’s charismatic swagger makes him the star of the show, but by the end even he looks overawed by how big an occasion it was – just read his lips as he turns to step off stage.

Welwyn Hatfield Times: Liam Gallagher in the grounds of Knebworth House.Liam Gallagher in the grounds of Knebworth House. (Image: Hamish Brown / Warner Music)

In addition to its digital/streaming formats, ‘Knebworth 22’ is also available on CD and three differently coloured double-vinyl editions.

The gatefold vinyl opens to reveal an aerial photo of the show, which demonstrates just how big an event it was. Other items to remember the occasion with include a festival flag, a live print, an art print, a souvenir ticket, a wristband, two T-shirt designs and a bottle opener. 

Liam launched ‘Knebworth 22’ – a document of his biggest solo shows to date – by playing one of his smallest ever gigs at KOKO last week.

Fans provided a rapturous welcome to the return of guitarist and Oasis legend Bonehead following his battle with cancer, and the show concluded with their take on the Jimi Hendrix classic ‘Are You Experienced?’. 


‘Knebworth 22’ album tracklist: 

  • ‘Hello’ 
  • ‘Rock ‘n’ Roll Star’ 
  • ‘Wall Of Glass’ 
  • ‘Shockwave’ 
  • ‘Everything’s Electric’ 
  • ‘Roll It Over’ 
  • ‘Slide Away’ 
  • ‘More Power’ 
  • ‘C’mon You Know’ 
  • ‘The River’ 
  • ‘Once’ 
  • ‘Cigarettes & Alcohol’ 
  • ‘Some Might Say’ 
  • ‘Supersonic’ 
  • ‘Wonderwall’ 
  • ‘Champagne Supernova’