A year on from playing two 'Biblical' gigs at Knebworth Park, Liam Gallagher is to release a live album of the concerts.

New live album 'Knebworth 22' will be released on August 11, 2023.

Rock 'n' roll star Liam made a triumphant return to the grounds of Knebworth House last summer for two sold-out solo shows on June 3 and June 4, 2022 - 26 years after Oasis played two seminal gigs at the same venue in 1996.

The concerts won acclaim from the music press, with NME saying, “LG comes out fighting to deliver an epic day in the sun, bringing Oasis' iconic gigs to the new generation.”

Welwyn Hatfield Times: The cover of Liam Gallagher's new live album 'Knebworth 22' - which is released August 11.The cover of Liam Gallagher's new live album 'Knebworth 22' - which is released August 11. (Image: Warner Music)

The i called the concert "a triumph" while the Daily Telegraph wrote “Gallagher’s impeccable rock star swagger never wavered”.

Gallagher will now document his triumphant two-night Knebworth Park residency with the release of the live album ‘Knebworth 22’ on August 11.

Liam says: “So we recorded the Knebworth gigs we did last year. We all sound Biblical, turn it up ENJOY, LGx."

The new album features 16 of the songs performed at Knebworth, although classic Oasis tracks such as Stand By Me and Live Forever don't make the final cut.

Welwyn Hatfield Times: Liam Gallagher performing at Knebworth 22.Liam Gallagher performing at Knebworth 22. (Image: Rob Ryder)


Read more


Following the release of feature-length documentary Liam Gallagher - Knebworth 22 at cinemas last year, Liam Gallagher said: “I’m still in shock that I got to play Knebworth 2 nights, 26 years after I played it with Oasis. I’m still trying to get my head around it.

"To have played to multiple generations at the same venue so many years apart was beyond Biblical. I’m so glad that we documented it. Knebworth for me was and always will be a celebration of the fans as well as the music."


Returning to the scene of the era-defining Oasis gigs of the 90s, the huge audience stretched from fans who had been present some 26 years earlier right through to teenagers relishing the excitement of their first big Knebworth gig.

Anticipation for the shows was at fever pitch after all 170,000 tickets for the weekend sold-out.

The heady atmosphere of the shows shines throughout the ‘Knebworth 22’ live album, from the roar of approval that greets Liam as he steps up to open the show with ‘Hello’ right through to the mass singalongs that greet the closing Oasis classics ‘Wonderwall’ and ‘Champagne Supernova’ - the latter featuring a very special guest in the shape of Stone Roses legend John Squire.

Liam and his band are on fiery form, blazing through the likes of ‘Shockwave’ and ‘Everything’s Electric’ with a full-throttle intensity, but also providing the accompaniment for the more tender side of Liam’s voice to standout on more reflective moments such as ‘Once’ and ‘Slide Away’.

Collectively, ‘Knebworth 22’ is a must-have live album for any fan who wants to relive the experience or for fans who didn't get tickets.

‘Knebworth 22’ is released alongside a live video of the weekend’s surprises. 

‘Roll It Over’ originally featured on the Oasis album ‘Standing On The Shoulder of Giants’ and, while the band never played it live, it nonetheless turned out to be a lesser-known fan favourite.

This performance elevates the song to its full majesty, a sweeping melancholic epic with Liam’s vocal simmering with unadulterated passion.


How to buy 'Knebworth 22' by Liam Gallagher

‘Knebworth 22’ is now available to pre-order or pre-save at https://liamgallagher.lnk.to/knebworth22.

In addition to its digital release, physical formats included standard and deluxe CDs, black double-vinyl and sun yellow double-vinyl.

A striking olive and black marble double-vinyl edition is also available exclusively from Liam’s official store.

Liam Gallagher’s solo career has been a remarkable resurgence which has seen all three of his studio albums – ‘As You Were’, ‘Why Me? Why Not.’ and last year's ‘C’mon You Know’ – shoot straight to number one.

His ‘MTV Unplugged’ album also topped the UK charts, while the live album ‘Down By The River Thames’ charted at number four after being released on the same day as ‘C’mon You Know’.


What songs are on the new Liam Gallagher Knebworth 22 live album?

 ‘Knebworth 22’ tracklist:

  • ‘Hello’
  • ‘Rock ‘n’ Roll Star’
  • ‘Wall Of Glass’
  • ‘Shockwave’
  • ‘Everything’s Electric’
  • ‘Roll It Over’
  • ‘Slide Away’
  • ‘More Power’
  • ‘C’mon You Know’
  • ‘The River’
  • ‘Once’
  • ‘Cigarettes & Alcohol’
  • ‘Some Might Say’
  • ‘Supersonic’
  • ‘Wonderwall’
  • ‘Champagne Supernova'